know SS Ahluwalia

Surendrajeet Singh Ahluwalia
BURDWAN-DURGAPUR Parliamentary Constituency Candidate - 2019

Shri SS Ahluwalia was born on the 4 of July 1951 in Asansol, West Bengal. Married to Smt. Monica Bannerjee, he has 2 Daughters and 3 Sons.He completed his primary education from St.Josephs School in Asansol, his Graduation from Bidhan Chandra College, Asansol and went on to complete his Law Degree from Calcutta University Law College, University Campus.

A student leader and activist throughout his early years, he was elected into the Parliament as an MP from Bihar, in the year 1986. Over the years of his career, he has held the posts of Minister for Urban Development, and Minister of Parliamentary Affairs in the Union Government.

He was also the Deputy Leader of the Opposition in the Rajya Sabha, till recently.Shri Ahluwalia is National Vice President of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

He has been an MP representing Bihar and Jharkhand in the Rajya Sabha, the upper house of the Indian Parliament, over several terms from 1986-1992, 1992-1998, 2000–2006, and 2006-2012.

Political Career

Minister of State in the Ministry of Drinking Water and Sanitation and Minister of State in the Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology.

Inducted into the Union Council of Ministers as a Minister of State for Agriculture and Farmers Welfare and Parliamentary Affairs on 5 July 2016

Elected to the Lok Sabha from the Darjeeling Parliamentary Constituency of West Bengal with active support of a local unrecognized party Gorkha Janmukti Morcha in May 2014.

Appointed Chairman of the North-East Working Committee (BJP) in charge of GE 2014 in the North East States.

Appointed National Vice President, Bharatiya Janata Party.

Deputy Leader of the Opposition - Rajya Sabha.

Re-elected to Rajya Sabha(4th term)

Elected to Rajya Sabha (Representing the State of Jharkhand following reorganization of Bihar during the year)( 3rd Term)

Union Minister of State - Parliamentary Affairs

Union Minister of State - Urban Affairs and Employment

Re-elected to Rajya Sabha ( 2nd term)

Elected to Rajya Sabha